romania-flagOfficial Name: Romania

Location: (Southeastern) Central Europe

Time Zone: Seven hours ahead of U.S. Eastern Standard Time (GMT + 2)

Area: 92,043 sq. miles (238,391 sq. km)

Flag of Romania: Three vertical stripes: red, yellow and blue.

Population: 19,651,000 (March 2014)

Main Ethnic Groups: Romanian 84%, Hungarian 6.1%, Rromani 3.1%, German 0.2%, Ukrainian 0.2%

Religions: Christian Orthodox 81%, Roman Catholic 4.3%, Reformed 3%, Greek-Catholic 0.7%, Unitarian 0.3%, Jewish, other.

Official Language: Romanian

Currency: Romanian Leu (RON) ( plural Lei )

Climate: Temperate, four distinct seasons

Capital: Bucharest (București)

Form of State: Romania is a semi-parliamentary democracy based on a bicameral Parliament: the Chamber of Representatives (Camera Deputaţilor) and the Senate (Senat).  All members of the legislature are directly elected from Romania’s 41 counties.)

Legal system: Based on European models and Constitution of 1991.

Head of State: President of the Republic, currently Mr. Klaus Werner Iohannis (elected on November 16, 2014). Romania’s president is allowed to serve two consecutive five-year terms.

Head of the Government: the Prime Minister, currently  Mr. Dacian Cioloș.

Regional Government: Forty-one County Councils (Consiliu Judeţean).

Romania is a member state of the  European Union and North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)